? Readercon: Guests

Readercon 26

Guests of Honor

Nicola Griffith

Nicola Griffith

Nicola Griffith was born in Yorkshire, England, but has lived in the US for many years with her wife, Kelley Eskridge. She began publishing sf with “Mirror and Burnstone” in Interzone in 1987. Her novels include Ammonite (1993, Tiptree and Lambda Award winner), Slow River (1994, Nebula and Lambda winner), The Blue Place (1998), Stay (2002), Always (2007), and Hild (2013). She has also co-edited with Stephen Pagel three anthologies, Bending the Landscape: Fantasy (1997), Bending the Landscape: Science Fiction (1998), and Bending the Landscape: Horror (2001). She has also published a memoir, And Now We Are Going to Have a Party: Liner Notes to a Writer's Early Life (2007), another Lambda Award winner.


Gary K. Wolfe

Garu K. Eolfe

Gary K Wolfe has been an sf and fantasy critic for several decades. He studied under James Gunn at the University of Kansas, and then earned his PhD at the University of Chicago. He has for many years been a Professor of Humanities at Roosevelt University, Chicago. He written monthly for Locus magazine since 1991, and is their lead reviewer. His many books include Critical Terms for Science Fiction and Fantasy (1986), Harlan Ellison: The Edge of Forever (with Ellen R Weil, 2002), the BSFA-Award-winning Soundings: Reviews 1992-1996 (2005), and Evaporating Genres: Essays on Fantastic Literature (2010). He also edited the Library of America’s recent 2-volume set of classic sf novels of the 1950s. Among his many honors are the Eaton Award and the Pilgrim Award for lifetime contribution to the field of sf criticism. With Jonathan Strahan, he currently hosts the Hugo-Award nominated Coode Street Podcast.


Joanna Russ

Joanna Russ

Joanna Russ (1937-2011) was, arguably, the most influential writer of feminist science fiction the field has ever seen. In addition to her classic The Female Man (1975), her novels include Picnic on Paradise (1968), We Who are About to… (1977), and The Two Of Them (1978). Her short fiction is collected in The Adventures of Alyx (1976), The Zanzibar Cat (1983), (Extra)Ordinary People (1984), and The Hidden Side of the Moon (1987). She was also a distinguished critic of science fiction, her books including The Country You Have Never Seen: Essays and Reviews (2007). Of her works outside the sf field, she is perhaps best known for How To Suppress Women’s Writing (1983). Join us as we celebrate her work and life at Readercon.

Program Participants

Click on Book icon to see the guest's bio-bibliography. * indicates former Guest of Honor.